Living the crazy life that God has given me!

Quit Trying to Please Her!

Please Her

I am sure that there are many women that ultimately read this and think, “What?” Well let me explain what I mean please, before you come gunning for me.

One of the things that I have realized as a husband is that I am always trying to please my wife.  It is one of the things that I have always tried to do ever since we were married over 20 years ago.  But I have to be honest it is really, really, hard.  She is emotional.  She can be moody.  She confuses me.  She cries. Sometimes I have learned that a good cry is just needed. (Never heard men ever say this.) She loves. She cares. She is a great mom. She is an amazing friend.  All these things can and will happen with in one day. (I am exaggerating)

I am a man and I am trying to please a woman.  It is something that can absolutely drive you out of your mind.

So I “Quit trying to please her!”

What I did instead was try to please Jesus when it came to her.  It may sound like something for people who are not followers of Jesus as weird.  Heck for some people that say they are followers of Jesus this may sound weird.  But for me I realized that I am never going to be exactly what she wants or do exactly what she wants.  So if I am trying to be the follower of Jesus that he is leading me to be then I am going to please her in ways that I would never be able to accomplish on my own.

You see if I love her unconditionally with the radical grace of Jesus it has was less to do with her and more with Him.  The idea came to me when I read these verses from the bible:

Ephesians 5:25 & 26 25 “For husbands, this means love your wives, just as Christ loved the church. He gave up his life for her 26 to make her holy and clean, washed by the cleansing of God’s word.”

So that means for me the goal is to seek to please Jesus and that ultimately will give me the opportunity to please her.  But if I am trying to do it the other way around then I am going to be constantly frustrated and trying to hit a moving (Crying) target.

What are ways that you can seek to follow Jesus that will lead you to be a better husband?  If you are not a follower of Jesus then what are some principals that you may know are from the bible that can help you please your gal?

 

Leave a Reply

