Living the crazy life that God has given me!

It’s Not What You Think

How To Knock Over a 7-ElevenI want to admit something to you.  For some of you this may not be a shock but for others this may be very shocking.  I am an addict.  That’s right I am a book-aholic.  Truth be told a Barnes and Noble is to me the closest thing to heaven, it has books and it has coffee.  So with that being said, “Hi my name is Scott and I love to read.”

Okay with that being said I wanted to share with some of you a book that I just finished.  In fact it is one that I have encouraged each of my staff members to read and chew on for ourselves. (Not really eat it but you know what I mean.) The book is called “How to Knock Over a 7-Eleven and other Ministry Training” and it is written by Michael Cheshire. Here are a few things that I was able to walk away with myself from the book:

  • The church that partners with the hurt, fights for the downcast, and loves the broken will win.
  • There is a massive difference between ministry in theory and ministry in life.
  • Over time, we have come to see that because of how we do church, we are predisposed to failing more than others. In basketball, when you take a lot of shots, you may make a lot of baskets—but you also miss more.
  • I believe that what defines leaders is not what they do with their lives but rather what they helped others around them do with their lives.

What was special for us was not just being able to read the book but to also meet the author and see what he wrote about first hand.  For us a little drive to Conifer, Colorado was well worth the trip as we meet the team at JourneyFoothills and see the amazing work that they are doing to reach people with the radical grace of Jesus.  It was truly an honor to spend time with Michael Cheshire and his team learning, it has enabled us to see and exciting future and think of things in a new light.

One response

  1. “Truth be told a Barnes and Noble is to me the closest thing to heaven, it has books and it has coffee.”

    I think that pretty much sums it up for a whole lot of people…

    September 27, 2013 at 9:25 AM

Leave a Reply

