Living the crazy life that God has given me!

Why should healthy living be important?

A great book on your health and being a follower of Jesus.

A great book on your health and being a follower of Jesus.

For the next couple of the weeks at Elevation we are going to be doing a series called, “Built 4 Life”. Where we are going to be focusing on how God has giving us the direction about living a healthy life.  So the focus verse for this series is:

John 10:10 (NLT) 10 “The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life.”

We are hoping and praying that people will be able to see that it is important to tie our physical being with the spiritual.  That as a person of faith I should see the need to be healthy and that God has created me to have a rich life.  But I need to see the why in my life whether it is personal or as a mission in my life.  In fact that is how we created the statement for this weekend; “The why leads me try.”  The why in my life should lead me to try and live a healthier life.  So here are some of my personal whys:

  • I hope to live a long life with her.
  • I hope to be able to walk my girls down the isle.
  • I hope to be able to play catch with my grandkids.

But then there is the mission whys in my life:

  • I hope to see all the people in Aurora know Jesus.
  • I hope to be able to travel around the world and share about Jesus.
  • I hope to be able to lead other groups in planting churches.

What are the whys in your life? How are those whys going to lead you to try and live a healthier life?

In the book “Winning My Race: Discovering the energy, time and discipline to fulfill your destiny.” By Dr. Ben Lerner & Dr. Chris Zaino there is a quote that challenges us to know our whys.

“The two most important days in someone’s life are the day you are born and the day you discover why.” Anonymous

What are your whys and how will you start to take some steps to lead a healthier life?

Leave a Reply

