Living the crazy life that God has given me!

Quit listening to other voices! (part 5 finally)

quit listening

The time that I was able to spend at the Preaching and Teaching conference was great. I was so glad that I was able to spend some time with a great friend named Arron Chambers.  He is the lead pastor at The Journey Church in Greeley, CO and is also the author of one of my favorite books called “Eats with Sinners“.  Arron has a great passion and great ability to communicate to people the importance of spending time with people who are far from Jesus.  I get excited every time I hear him give his talk about it.  In fact the main reason that I get excited about it is because he is always saying that we need to listen to the voice of Jesus talk about meeting and caring for people who are far from a relationship with Jesus.

That is the last thing that I shared with the college students that were a part of the talk that I gave at Ozark Christian College.  If we as church leaders and church planters are to “Quit to continue and continue to Quit” then are last thing is to “quit listening to other voices then the voice of Jesus.”

There are so many people who are going to be telling you as a church planter and church leader what is important for you to be doing.  That there is the need for a woman’s ministry, that there is a need for a men’s ministry, and that there is a need for the under water basket weaving for Jesus ministry. (Not real, but if you have this ministry stop. People might drowned.)

We need to as leaders and church planters to focus on what God is telling us.  Here again is a place where I believe that Saul can give us some insight in what not to do in 1 Samuel 15:24:

24 Then Saul admitted to Samuel, “Yes, I have sinned. I have disobeyed your instructions and the Lord’s command, for I was afraid of the people and did what they demanded. ” (My emphasis)

Saul as a leader was more worried about what the people wanted that what God had commanded.  There are certain times that as a follower of Jesus, leader in a church, or church planter that we just need to quit listening to everyone else and focus on what Jesus is calling us too.

For me that means that we need to make sure that we are seeking to reach people who are far away from Jesus. At Elevation we put it this way; “Engage jacked up people so that they can become followers of Jesus.”  This is something that we are always going to do in our church.  Why?  Because that is what God has called us to do as church in Aurora, CO and that is not up for debate.  Not because I want to be a jerk but because at the end of my life I want to be able to stand before Jesus and know that I listened to his voice and his voice alone.  “Quit to continue and continue to quit.”  Let’s be quitters and not get caught quitting.

What is a voice that you need to stop listening too?

Leave a Reply

