Living the crazy life that God has given me!

Quit waiting to move! (part 3)

move

I don’t know how many times that as a pastor or a pastor to students that I have heard people make this statement:

“God is calling me too, (fill in the blank) and I was hoping that you would pray with me about it.”

Most of the time my answer to them is “NO, I won’t pray with you about it.” Which really usually brings faces of shock and the question of “WHY?” Here is my response to that. “Because if God has called you to do it, then DO IT! Don’t pray about if you should do it. DO IT!”  Again when it comes to the area of “Church Planters being Quitters” I believe that is where church planters have seen that God has called them to do something so they have quit waiting to move. I love the verse where Jonathan and his armor bearer have taken a step of faith and are now about to step into the battle. As I read 1 Samuel 14:6 I was able to see the area of church planting and the need to move:

“Let’s go across to the outpost of those pagans,” Jonathan said to his armor bearer. “Perhaps the Lord will help us, for nothing can hinder the Lord. He can win a battle whether he has many warriors or only a few!”  (Emphasis mine)

The more and more that I read through the bible and the more and more I talk with church planters and church leaders I believe that God has called us to live in the “Perhaps“.  We are as followers of Jesus first and foremost to rely on God and see the obstacles more as opportunities to see Him show up and do something amazing.

When we were preparing to launch Elevation Christian Church in Aurora, CO.  I kept putting off the date that we were going to launch. I was worried about money, I was worried about people, I was worried about the place, and I was worried if I was ready.  It wasn’t until I had the opportunity to have dinner with Pastor Perry Noble. (Twitter is awesome when you are able to find out people are in your area and you beg for dinner.)  We were sitting there eating and he began to ask questions about what we were doing then he asked when we were going to launch. The question that I had been dealing with.  When I gave him my answer of not being sure he made a statement that rocked me. “If God has called you to do this then do it, if it is God’s will then he will flip the bill.”  It was exactly what I needed to hear at that time.  To me it was the Jonathan moment where I need to hear that we need to live in the “Perhaps” of following God.

Where are you hearing God call you to move? Is it a life style move, is it a vocational move, or is it a spiritual move?

Leave a Reply

