Living the crazy life that God has given me!

Dealing with Insecurity

Over the last couple of years as we have walked through planting a church in Aurora, CO. I have had to deal with many areas of growth. Developing leaders, doing long range planning, and knowing what to do when to do it. (Still working on that one.) But most of all I have had to deal with my insecurity.

I had a person that I have in my life that is able to speak into those areas of my life and a couple of weeks ago he just said, “Scott you are a very insecure person.” At first it really kind of ticked me off. But the more I have thought about it the more it has really been a freeing moment for me. I am insecure.

I am insecure about:

  • my marriage
  • my parenting
  • my ability
  • my leadership
  • my . . . .

But the one thing that I gain strength from as the insecure person is my true security coming from my identity in Jesus. I am  a follower of the risen Savior Jesus. I am a jacked up, insecure person, that only can live life because of the radical grace of Jesus Christ.

John 1:12 12 But to all who believed him and accepted him, he gave the right to become children of God.

Sounds simple doesn’t it. Well it is! Every day since that conversation I have woke up with the this statement. “I am a child of the risen and conquering Savior, my life only comes from Him. I am secure because of what he has done, not me!” Take some time to say this statement each day and see what it does for you.

Hi, my name is Scott Bloyer and I am secure with being insecure. Who is with me?

5 responses

  1. D.J. Kiewel

    I am so with you…past hurts, pains, and even my own failures left me very insecure about myself. Realizing that my identity is wrapped up in Christ, not in my own inscurities and failures, has made growth in my life through Jesus possible. “Through Him all things are possible.” Healing for me started in realizing my identity in Him!

    August 10, 2012 at 8:10 AM

  2. jenny

    Insecurity was something I grew up with. My Dad was filled with his own insecurities and dealt with them by being an overbearing Dad when he was home and addict of several things when he wasn’t. There was a lot of either displine by yelling or periods of complete silence. We never knew what was right or wrong. Obviously, our family didn’t have a strong male leader to look up to.My Dad was diagnosed with MS when I was in HS and at the same time my parents were divorced. He also changed into a different person. He had to slow down. It was then I got to REALLY get to know him. Unfortunately, he had some real demons in his past that he just could not get past and ended up taking his own life in 1998.
    Before that awful year I really got to learn just how wise my Dad was about life. I gained some wonderful insight about how tragedy as awful as it can be and our insecurities can provide great learning opportunies. I have found that to be true in my own life. Espectially since I have had this new relationship with God. I have been without a home, I live with a condition that causes incredible pain,and my family goes daily at times not knowing how we will get our next meal…talk about feeling insecure. However since I have I learned to put my faith in God it just seems to work out. I also have learned INCREDIBLE things about myself and mankind. Sometimes we have to slow down and trust in Christ with both feet on the chair.

    August 17, 2012 at 10:21 AM

  3. Jenny thank you so much for opening up and sharing about yor life and your walk with insecurity. It is amazing how God uses those of us that are so insecure to point people to the most secure thing ever Jesus. I am sure that God will continue to point us to an even greater opportunity to know him as we slow down and hang out with him.

    August 21, 2012 at 8:23 PM

  4. Thanks for sharing brother. Keep the walk to live in security with Jesus.

    August 21, 2012 at 8:24 PM

  5. peter kimoso

    its true sir

    November 18, 2012 at 8:52 AM

Leave a Reply

