Living the crazy life that God has given me!

When did marriage become a JOKE?

I recently read an article that was posted by a local news channel on twitter.  It disturbed me!

Here is the cliff notes of the story (Read it here). There is a woman who has been a part of a movement of people who are trying to keep a local building from being torn down.  So in an effort to save the building from being torn down this woman with the support of the people around here decides to marry the building. Now at first I thought this is interesting. But the more I thought about the more bothered I became that marriage today has become more of a punchline to a joke then a commitment that is to be made between a man and a woman to God.

Michelle and I will be celebrating 20 years of marriage in May. I don’t want one the best things in my life, my marriage to my best friend to be a punch line in a joke or a way to save a building from being destroyed.  It is my hope that for the many of those of us that have had marriages that are a powerful statement to commitment and to marriage before God will continue to encourage those around us to see marriage as important.  It is my hope that as we lead in our homes and in our commuities that people will see the joy that comes from a marriage that is based in God’s love for one another and a commitment to live together through the good and bad is important.  Just a little fired up!

What do you think?

2 responses

  1. Karin Kiewel

    This article makes me sick. Jim and I are 36 years, almost 37 years, into our journey together. Our parents were 38 and 48 years, respectively, until one spouse died. Our children are 15 years, 13 years, and 2 years (second marriage). We taught them God’s view of marriage and warned them before marriage about if they weren’t in it forever, then don’t get married. The fact that this woman “married the building” shows that she has no regard for the sanctity of marriage as God commands it. Our society seems to be going toward destroying God’s model of marriage and family.

    It behooves us to show forth our stand in our Biblical marriages to this lost and dying world, to show them the way to our Lord, Jesus Christ and a personal relationship with Him!

    Thank you, Scott, for sharing this. What a wake-up call!

    February 1, 2012 at 10:58 AM

  2. a

    i know a couple that got a common law marriage to get more money in their tax return so they can buy a tv….

    March 9, 2012 at 5:42 PM

Leave a Reply

