Living the crazy life that God has given me!

Listening

I had the great opportunity to speak to the students at Colorado Christian University at their chapel.  It was truly an amazing day listening to them sing and worship as well as being able to share with them about the biblical discipleship process that is in the bible.  There were two things that God really continues to rock my world with when it comes to being a church that is about making disciples that make disciples.

That relationship is so important.  I believe that as I read through the bible I see God constantly talking about our relationship with Him and our relationship with each other.  In fact I love how in Romans 4:13 puts it “Clearly, God’s promise to give the whole earth to Abraham and his descendants was not based on his obedience to God’s law, but on a right relationship with God that comes by faith.” (emphasis mine) We are not put into a right relationship with God not because of what we do but because of what He has done and because of His grace it is all about the faith that I put in Him.  My goal is not to be a guy that follows the rules but one that is growing more and more in a relationship with my Heavenly Father.  Relationship matters with God and it enables my other relationships to be what they can be because of Him.

The other thing that is just kicking me in the teeth is that I have a responsibility to LISTEN.  That I have been called to listen to my Father and what he wants in my life.

Proverbs 1:23 (NLT) “Come here and listen to me! I’ll pour out the spirit of wisdom upon you and make you wise.”

I don’t know about you but I have allowed so much noise in my life. I am the guy that loves to twitter, check my facebook, receive email, and read blogs.  I have over the last couple of weeks really made the effort to make my time with God exactly that time for me to hear from Him.  The phone is left some where else the T.V. is not on and I try as much as I can with three kids to be alone.  I want to hear from Him.

I also want to be a person that listens to the people that God has placed in my life.  I want to be able to hear from the people that don’t know Jesus and be able to hear where they are at with Him.  I want to be the disciple that is listening to the people around me so that I can guide them closer to Jesus.  The bible says:

Proverbs 12:15 (NLT) “Fools think they need no advice, but the wise listen to others.”

We can hear in the words that people say what they feel about Jesus. We can hear where they have been hurt.  We can hear what their hopes and dreams are but, we have to be willing to listen.  I encourage you this weekend to take some time to listen to God and to listen to those around you.  I promise you it will not be a waste of time.  You might just hear something special.

Leave a Reply

