Living the crazy life that God has given me!

The Church of the Jacked UP!

One of the things that I am constantly reminding myself and others about as we start a church is that we are all “Jacked Up”.  That there is not one perfect person in our church.  That the person that God is using to start the church is “Jacked Up” and that’s me.  In fact when I was speaking a couple of weeks ago in Jefferson City, MO I really felt God pushing me to remind everyone there that we are all a part of the “Jacked Up” in fact I had everyone there that night turn to the person next to them and say exactly that, “Hi I am part of the church of the Jacked Up.”  We all come with our baggage, our hurts, and the feeling of being damaged.  I was reminded this week of a scene in a movie that resembled this thought.  It comes from the movie “Black Hawk Down” and it goes like this:

Lt. Col. Danny McKnight is in a fierce battle.  The vehicle is filled with wounded and the blood from the wounded is all over the place. He then orders Private Othic “You get up there and drive!”  Othic yells back, “But I’m shot, Colonel!”  McKnight yells back, “Everybody is shot!”

There is not one person involved in our communities that have not had to deal with some type of hurt.  But what we can do is be the M.A.S.H. unit that is available to each other.  And we have the ultimate doctor that is able to heal and mend those hurts that we have experienced.  We know this because in Matthew he said that the doctor comes for the sick not the healthy.  We have a Doctor that has wounds that were made so that ours could be healed.  That is why I can say that I am part of the church of the “Jacked Up”.

Leave a Reply

