Living the crazy life that God has given me!

The Power of Presence

I have always know that as a dad I have to make sure that I am present in my kids lives.  That I need to be present both mentally, physically, and spiritually involved in their lives.  Now I have not been perfect, in fact there are so many times that I have been physically there but not mentally or even emotionally.  What I try to do is be all there.  As I begin the process of starting a church I have come to realize that the same is true for a community.  The people of a community need the presence of the followers of Jesus and not the ones that spend most of their time in a church building.  They need the power of presence.  Look at what Paul wrote:
1 Thes. 2:8 (NLT) We loved you so much that we gave you not only God’s Good News but our own lives, too.
They didn’t just drop off tracks or grab their bullhorns and yell, they spent time with the people of the community.  The next verse in that book says that they worked right along side with these people.  That is why I am glad that I have the awesome opportunity to work along side the people that I do at the boxing gym.  I am with a young man that is struggling with being a man, a young girl that is working hard to compete, I even have a couple of guys that are trying to figure out if they want to not follow the path that leads to jail.  Who are the people in your life that is getting you and the Holy Spirit guided presence, that are in desperate need of not just words but your life?  Who are you working along side that needs you to be just a friend that can pray, love, and care for them?
Leave a Reply

