Living the crazy life that God has given me!

Faith Fight Everyday

Did you know that every day that I have a fight?  I have a fight with myself.  No some of you may automatically think like me and picture Jim Carey beating himself up in the bathroom in the movie “Liar, Liar”.  I want you to know that is not what I am talking about.  I don’t know if I could literally give my self a right cross to the face.

What I am talking about is that every day I fight myself the side of me that wants to do what I want and not what God wants.  I fight with the way that I spend my money, the way that I talk to my wife and kids, I even fight with weather or not I want to even spend time with Jesus and His word.  Because you know what it would be much better if I just slept in at least a half hour.  I deserve that don’t I?  I believe that this fight is what leads to affairs, divorces, abuse, addiction, and the loss of our families.  I even believe this fight is what is allowing men to stop leading the families that God has called them to lead.

Galatians 5:17 (NLT) “the old sinful nature loves to do evil, which is opposite from what the Holy Spirit wants.  And the Spirit gives us desires that are opposite from what the sinful nature desires.  These two forces are constantly fighting each other, and your choices are never free from this conflict.”

We are always going to be at odds with ourselves.  We are always going to be virtually in a fist fight with ourselves over what we are to do or not do in this life and our choices will always have some conflict.  But there is hope.  There is a way to deal with this fight.  It is to trust in the complete work of Jesus Christ.  It is to know that the distractions of this life were nailed to the cross and crucified.  We need to seek to learn from the greatest fighter that ever walked this planet, Jesus.

Let’s learn to fight and fight with the grace and mercy of Jesus Christ, because that will only be the way that you will ever be able to defeat, YOU!

Leave a Reply

