Living the crazy life that God has given me!

Fathering a Teenage Daughter

I have three children two daughters and a son.  I had the privilege to grow up in a house that had four children three boys and one girl.  She was the youngest and I was the oldest of the family we are ten years a part.  I never was around for the teenage years of my sister when she was growing up so I never experienced walking through life with a teenage girl.  Well now we have two in the house and I am learning everyday from them and theie mother about walking through life with a teenage daughter.  While they were growing up I have always read books from men that have had daughters.  I have read books about parenting and at times especially parenting daughters.  Why?  Because I was afraid.  I did not want to be a total screw up when it came to being the father my daughters needed.  So as a dad of daughters I want to share a couple of things I have learned.  I want to start with this scripture so that you know what I am sharing comes from a biblical presence:

Col. 3:21 (NLT) Fathers, don’t aggravate your children. If you do, they will become discouraged and quit trying.

As I have studied this biblical passage I know that so many times we take it as what we are to do when it comes to disciplining our kids.  Or you will even hear some people that say that it means not to tease your kids, I don’t get that one.  But as I have walked through the last 16 years with daughters here are some things that I would encourage dad to do when it comes to not “aggravating your children”.

Dads don’t withhold your love and affection to your daughters mother.  How can this aggravate your daughter?  It is aggravating because she will not know what a healthy relationship will look like.  She will then become aggravated by trying to figure out if and when she gets married if she is to be like her parents or like the people in relationships that she sees on t.v.

Dads don’t with hold your love and affection to your daughter.  How can this aggravate your daughter? It then makes her want to get that love and affection some where else.  I can then pretty much guarantee that is the love and affection you don’t want her to be getting from some hairy legged teenage boy that thinks being a man is what he does between the sheets with a girl.  No matter what age your daughter is you need to kiss and hug her.  No matter how she has developed she needs to snuggle with her dad on the couch while watching a movie.  No matter how much you may get frustrated with her because you just don’t understand how she can change moods like you change channels, give her a hug before she goes to bed.

Dads don’t with hold your words about how beautiful she is. How can this aggravate your daughter?  She will then look for her beauty identity from other places.  She will compare herself to the magazines, which she will do anyway.  She will compare herself to the girls at school who have made a choice to where clothes that have less fabric then a band aid, which she will do anyway.  You may right now asking your self well if she is going to do all of this any way then what is the use?  The reason you need to do it is because you love your daughter and a daddy speak into this part of his daughters life like no other.

I am sure that if you were to ask most women today they would have never complain that there dad loved their mom to much, that there dad loved them with appropriate God ordained love to much, and that there dad told them they were beautiful to much.  I am here to say DADS don’t aggravate your daughters If you do, they will become discouraged and quit trying.

Fathers, don’t aggravate your children. If you do, they will become discouraged and quit tryingCol. 3:21 (NLT)
Fathers, don’t aggravate your children. If you do, they will become discouraged and quit trying.
One response

  1. Ryan

    wow…great…have you read strong fathers, strong daughters…really hitting home with me

    October 8, 2009 at 10:07 AM

Leave a Reply

