Living the crazy life that God has given me!

Quick Serve Christianity

IPOD Kiosk

Above is a picture that I took in the Oakland Airport of the IPOD Kiosk.  As I was sitting there I thought first that is way cool and I wish I had some money to be able to try that thing out.  (I really like MAC stuff now.)  I also was thinking about how we have really decided that this is the way that we want things in life.  Walk up insert the cash and get what I want quick fast and easy.  We also have this idea with what it means about becoming a follower of Jesus.

I mean let’s be honest we here people talking about church like it were the IPOD Kiosk.  “I want this kind of music.”  “I want this kind of preaching.”  “I want” “I want”.  It is that mentality of, I stand here and I push the button and out comes the church that I want.  I also see people do that with following after Jesus; “I want this prayer request answered”,  “I don’t want to have to serve others”,  “You forgave me but I don’t need to forgive others they hurt me”, “What you expect me to share with God my money?”.  You see our walk up and get the quick fix to what I want really sounds pretty pathetic when it comes to being a follower of Jesus Christ.  But yet we still do that.  I do that.  We don’t want to have to go through the tough times, we don’t want to have to work at being what God has called us to be, we just want things nice and easy the way we want it.

James 1:3-4 (NLT)
For when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow. [4] So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be strong in character and ready for anything.
James 1:3-4 (NLT)  For when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow. [4] So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be strong in character and ready for anything.
Where do you see yourself needing to step away from the easy push button kiosk and take the time to grow in your faith?
Leave a Reply

