Living the crazy life that God has given me!

Book Quote: How the Mighty Fall by Jim Collins

Proverbs 20:26 (Msg)
After careful scrutiny, a wise leader
makes a clean sweep of rebels and dolts.
This last week I had the opportunity to read a great book.  It is called “How the Mighty Fall and why some companies never give in” by Jim Collins.  In this book it shares some of the stories of businesses that had to deal with failure and what either lead to their final demise or their rebound.  After reading his book “Good to Great” and seeing him at the “Leadership Summit” I knew that there would be some great principles as well as insights and quotes that would encourage and equip me as a leader.
On page 57 he makes this statement “One notable distinction between wrong people and right people is that the former see themselves as having “jobs,” while the latter see themselves as having responsibilities.  Every person in a key seat should be able to respond to the question “What do you do?” not with a job title, but with a statement of personal responsibility.  “I’m the one person ultimately responsible for x and y. When I look left, to the right, in front, in back, there is no one ultimately responsible for me.  And I accept that responsibility.”
As I continue to seek the Lord in guidance as we prepare for starting a church in Colorado the area of putting people in leadership positions is one that I am seeking His great vision.  I know that the right or wrong person in a position can damage or perpetuate growth in a church start.  I also know that I am fortunate to have had some amazing people around me show me how they walk through this area of leadership.  But one of the things that I know is that God has placed in my heart to look for a group of people that want to be a team.  That don’t see themselves as the Savior because there is already one and His name is Jesus.  That each person will not see themselves by their title but with a statement of responsibility.  Like a person that is involved with “Guest Services” knows that their responsibility to make sure that everyone who walks through the doors knows that their is a God who loves them and that His people love them so much that they want them to feel welcome.  I pray that I will be able to see these people for the responsibility not for the title and that if a person is not able to fulfill those responsibilities that I will have the ability to do what I need to do with those people.  Like in the following verse:
Proverbs 20:26 (Msg) After careful scrutiny, a wise leader makes a clean sweep of rebels and dolts.
Really enjoyed the time in this book and I pray that through the Lords leadership is what we lift up and that we are able to use the principles that we can learn from others.  Because the church is the hope of the world and we need to make sure that we are leading with the most tenacity and effort possible.
Leave a Reply

