Living the crazy life that God has given me!

Are you making people better or worse?

Here is the quote that has been stuck in my mind for the last week,

“A really great man is one who makes others feel great”. by G.K. Chesterton.

This quote has really been going at it in my mind.  I think because of the different relationships and people that are in my life.  I pray everyday since Michelle has come into my life that as her husband that I am making her feel great.  That everyday since each one of the kids came into this world on loan to there mother and I that we are making them feel great.  I pray that every day that my family, father, mother, brothers, and sister are being made feel great because of who I am.  I even pray that as I walk into to new relationships people that I have only known for fifteen minutes feel great.

What I really want people to feel great about is not me or even what I do, but about the Jesus in me.  I continue to walk through the verses after Jesus has washed His disciples feet where he says:

John 13:14-15 (Msg)
So if I, the Master and Teacher, washed your feet, you must now wash each other’s feet. [15] I’ve laid down a pattern for you. What I’ve done, you do.
John 13:14-15 (Msg) So if I, the Master and Teacher, washed your feet, you must now wash each other’s feet. [15] I’ve laid down a pattern for you. What I’ve done, you do.
There are so many times when I hear people say “That was such a nice thing you did.”  Or I even got this comment this last week from a student that plays football with my son, “Mr. Bloyer (ouch) you are such a great dad.”  At first I really thought the kid was messing with me so I asked him if he was messing with me.  But he replied, “No, I just think that you are a really great dad and that Tyler is lucky.”  I said thanks and walked away feeling shocked.  It wasn’t until later that night that I really started to feel the weight of what this young man had said,  and how I responded.  What I should have shared with him was that I am a dad because, of the dad that I have.  My dad has always been and is a great dad, love you.  I also should have shared with this young man that I have a great Father.  That my Father in heaven is one that has made a difference in how I am a dad.  I also should have shared with him people like Charles Kellim, Jim Brooks, Jerry Coon, Dan Bethel, Harry Munson, and “Skinny” Knapp.  These were all great men that I believe that God used in my life to let me be the husband, dad, and pastor that I am today.  What I pray is that just like Jesus and his example of washing His disciple feet that I live a life that is an example of His humility, His Holiness, and His happiness that all came from serving His Father.  My Father.
What are you doing today that serves others? And how are you doing it in a way that points to Jesus? How are you making others great?
Leave a Reply

