Living the crazy life that God has given me!

To Beard or Not to Beard?

So last week I chose to put on my facebook page a question with a picture.  What was amazing to me was first the amount of responses that I got about growing a beard.  As well as the way the responses were divided male and female as well as the view points that came from the male and female friends that responded.

One of the things that I heard from the guys was “that would be manly, a full beard”, then from the ladies was “did you ask your wife about this.”  There were even some very precise comments like “you know that growing a beard can complicate kissing”  that was from a female perspective.  The guys comments are “beards rock” or the “you can then catch more bugs” comment came from a fellow motorcycle rider.  What I noticed was that not one guy commented about it in the context of the relationship with my wife.  To me it was pretty funny to just watch the comments come in.  I liked some of the creative ones as well one lady wrote “what if your wife doesn’t shave her legs”  another one said “if you grow a beard then you will look upside down” (I shave my head).  I just love how God has wired us to think different ways and to see things differently.  Wouldn’t it be boring with out such great perspectives.  So are you wondering if I have shave?  Well here is the first picture as well as the new picture.  We are going with the beard.

For all those ladies out there that made comments about what did my wife think.  Well I asked her opinion first.  You see I do want to know if that would change the kissing in our house.  I also think that of any one’s opinion hers is going to carry the only weight.  I just see this as a great way to continue to encourage guys to think about when it comes to our decisions do we think about what our spouses would think.  I spend a lot of time counseling people that are married that think that there opinion is the most important in the relationship.  Well if you think that way I would just say you would be better off getting a pet and not a spouse.  Because your pets you can order around.  Not a spouse.  When Eve was created in the garden of Eden she was created from Adams rib.  Not from the bottom of his foot, for her to be ruled upon.  Not from the top of the head where she is to rule upon the man, but from the side the place where a partner stands. So I encourage all of us husbands and wives to begin in our thoughts about decisions first with what God would want and then second how does this affect my spouse.  If we think this way I really believe a lot of issues that we deal with will slowly go away.

Genesis 2:21-24 (NLT)
So the Lord God caused Adam to fall into a deep sleep. He took one of Adam’s ribs and closed up the place from which he had taken it. [22] Then the Lord God made a woman from the rib and brought her to Adam.
[23] “At last!” Adam exclaimed. “She is part of my own flesh and bone! She will be called ‘woman,’ because she was taken out of a man.” [24] This explains why a man leaves his father and mother and is joined to his wife, and the two are united into one.
Genesis 2:21-24 (NLT) So the Lord God caused Adam to fall into a deep sleep. He took one of Adam’s ribs and closed up the place from which he had taken it. [22] Then the Lord God made a woman from the rib and brought her to Adam.
[23] “At last!” Adam exclaimed. “She is part of my own flesh and bone! She will be called ‘woman,’ because she was taken out of a man.” [24] This explains why a man leaves his father and mother and is joined to his wife, and the two are united into one.
What area of your relationship with your spouse could you think about them more often?
Leave a Reply

