Living the crazy life that God has given me!

Spiritual BRATS!

Spiritual Brats

1 Cor. 13:11 (NLT)
It’s like this: When I was a child, I spoke and thought and reasoned as a child does. But when I grew up, I put away childish things.

1 Cor. 13:11 (NLT) It’s like this: When I was a child, I spoke and thought and reasoned as a child does. But when I grew up, I put away childish things.

The Bible is constantly talking about how we are to start out like children when it comes to our relationship with Christ.  The part that most people forget is that the bible also talks about us growing up and becoming more like Jesus.  Unfortunately we have to many people that have come to know Christ and are walking around like a bunch of spiritual brats.  These are the people in the churches that feel that it is OK to point out everything that is wrong with the church without looking to scripture and the Lord to change things.  They just want to be spoon fed every week from the pulpit but only if it is something that they want to eat. (If not they throw a tantrum and write nasty comments or blog)
What I love about the verse is that eventually we have to grow up. We have to put away childish things. So it is my prayer that we begin to see that as we seek to be more like Christ we need to seek Him in how we are to grow up.  I believe that if we look to scripture that it will point us to the places and the ways that we need to grow up that through the Holy Spirit prompting us we will know what to do next.
So where are you, are you a spiritual brat or child of faith looking to growing more into the image of Christ?   My hope is that we GROW UP!
Leave a Reply

