Living the crazy life that God has given me!

The Waves of Fatherhood

Morgan looking into the wavesThere are many days that I look into the faces of my children and wonder what large waves will they face? What are the areas of their life will they feel are crashing around them like the large waves on a beach?

One of those areas that I constantly pray is not when it comes to the relationship that I have with their mother.  A statistic that I have heard and read over the last couple of months is that 40% of children wake up every day without their father in their home.  I believe one of the things that God has called me to be in this life is a husband.  Not husband that sits back and just does what he wants, or that I feel is best for me, but a husband that seeks to be the husband that my wife needs and that God wants for her.

Malachi 2:15 (NLT) “Didn’t the Lord make you one with your wife? In body and spirit you are his.  And what does he want? Godly children from your union.  So guard yourself; remain loyal to the wife of your youth.”

The greatest wave that could possibly hit the lives of my children would be if I would not be the husband that God has called me to be to the wife that God has loaned to me for this life.  It is a daily prayer of mine that men will begin to step up and be the men that their families need.  That we will actually lead in our homes the way that we lead in the office, that we will take as much pride in our families as we do in our paychecks, and that our wives will be treated as amazing gifts from God and not objects that are to be used and traded in.  I pray that today that men will get the guts or whatever word that you choose to lead and love their families.  So that they will not feel the wave of a broken family come crashing around them.

Leave a Reply

