Living the crazy life that God has given me!

To know God more we need Community!

“In each of my friends that is something that only some other friend can fully bring out.  By myself I am not large enough to call the whole man into activity; I want other lights than my won to show all the facets.  No that Charles (Williams) is dead, I shall never again see Ronald’s (Tolkien’s) reaction to a specifically Charles joke.  Far from having more of Ronald, having him “to myself” now that Charles is away, I have less of Ronald. . .  In this, friendship exhibits a glorious “nearness by resemblance” to heaven itself where the very multitude of the blessed (which no man can number) increases the fruition which each of us has of God. For every soul, seeing Him in her own way, doubtless communicates that unique vision to all the rest.  That, says an old author, is why the Seraphim in Isaiah’s vision are crying “Holy, Holy, Holy” to one another (Isaiah 6:3) The more we thus share the Heavenly Bread between us, the more we shall have.”

The Four Loves, by C.S. Lewis

I love this writing of C.S. Lewis from “Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe” to “Mere Christianity”.  But I came across this quote in a book and it has really taken over my thinking.  It is amazing to me that so many of us feel that we can go through life without really have close relationships.  That we can walk through life on our own and think that is noble, brave, or even manly.  But from what I can see that this great author thought that without true friendship we never become the best person we can possibly be or that God wants us to be.  That C.S. Lewis even went so as far to say that we can never know God as well as we would hope without the friendships of true community.

We need each other.  We need the gathering together of brothers and sisters in Christ to enable our lives to be that richer and greater when it comes to our lives in Christ.  The question that I have for you is what level of community are you experiencing in your life?  Are you living within a brotherhood or a sisterhood that would cease to be complete if you were not there?

Leave a Reply

