Living the crazy life that God has given me!

Focus – Focus – Focus

I believe that as a husband, father, and ministry leader that there lots of things that can steal my focus that can cause my heart to wander from what is most important.  I have always loved the book of Proverbs but for the different situations that I have encountered in the last couple of days it has really talked me about the ability to focus.  

Proverbs 4: 23 – 27 (Message) ” Keep vigilant watch over your heart that’s where life starts.  Don’t talk out of both sides of your mouth, avoid careless banter, white lies, and gossip.  Keep your eyes straight ahead, ignore all sideshow distractions.  Watch your step, and the road will stretch out smooth before you. Look neither right nor left, leave evil in the dust.”

This Sunday a situation came about where I was seriously distracted by some thing that should have never been an issue. In fact if it would have been handled correctly I should have never even been aware of it.  But it was amazing to me how one little thing can really take my focus off of what is most important. It started to the more that I thought about it, but I had to make a choice. I could have allowed it to really get under of my skin but I really decided that Satan was not going to take my eye off of what was important.  You see I had been teaching in the main auditorium and we had already through the services seen 11 people put their faith in Christ and they stood up in the service to share that with those around them.  We saw a man stand up that had been coming to church for years but had never fully trusted in Christ.  I really knew that this was a situation during the afternoon that Satan was trying to use to take my focus off of following Christ and the gospel being presented that evening.  

So I showed up to the evening service and really tried to stay away from people, tried to make sure that there was not another opportunity for me to get distracted.  By the end of the service we were able to watch 6 more people make a choice that lead from hell to heaven.  What if I would have allowed petty talk and comments to take away my focus.  I would have missed out on being a part of the most amazing thing in the world.  An individual stepping into an eternal relationship with Jesus Christ.  

I pray that no matter the situation that I will not lose FOCUS on what God has called me to do in my life. 

What types of things have you seen steal your focus away from Gods purpose in your life?

Leave a Reply

