Living the crazy life that God has given me!

Fear Not!

“Come on don’t be scared it isn’t that bad!”  How many times have you heard someone say that to someone who is either afraid of heights, or planes, or roller coasters, or snakes (mine).  It is always someone who does not have the same fear that you have and they are pushing you to do something that they themselves are excited about doing.  But what it the tables were turned and they had to do something that they were afraid of and you weren’t.  Would you then become the person that says “Come on don’t be scared it isn’t that bad!”? Well what about now with the way things are going with the finances of the country with the way the housing market is going.  Can we look around and see “Come on don’t be scared it isn’t that bad!”.  

Well I think that we can and should if we are followers of Christ.  I mean I don’t expect us to be stupid and not use the brain that the Lord has given us.  I don’t mean that you should  go out and just buy things that you don’t need or finances things that are really not in the budget. Oops!  That is what got us into this place isn’t it.  (That’s another post)  But what if? What if you felt that God has called you to do something that was not just a normal thing to do in this moment in time?  Like start a church, or go be a missionary, or support an orphan in India, or go into ministry?  What then should we do?  Be afraid or go and say “Come on don’t be scared it isn’t that bad.”  I think that we should “fear not”.  Not because we are stupid but because the bible says it my life verse is:

Joshua 1:9 “I command you  – be strong and courageous! Don’t be afraid or discouraged. For the Lord your God is with you where ever you go.”

Erwin McManus wrote this “Your fears establish the limits in your life.”  I pray that with all that is going on in this world that the fear does not put you in a place where you are limiting what God can do in you and through you.  “FEAR NOT”

What are you most afraid of that might happen this year?

2 responses

  1. christy

    Scott, just wanted to let you know I am praying for you this week. Also to say thanks for the words in your blog. I haven’t read them in a few weeks and the called Fear Not really touched me. It is pretty scary right now. Pray for Greg. He is seeking Gods guidance in all of this. I subbed at my old school today and loved it. As Zach told me “Mom, you are a teacher not an office manager!”. I know God wanted me to be available for Mom and Greg the last two years, but I am ready to go back. Pray that God leads me to the position he wants me in. Keep in touch about how it is going. Christu

    February 25, 2009 at 8:17 PM

  2. Girl I pray for you and your family each week. I know that there are a lot of things going on with the business. Have a great week and know that we are thinking and praying for all of you. Love,
    Scott

    March 2, 2009 at 2:31 PM

Leave a Reply

