Living the crazy life that God has given me!

War, Economy, and Whatever!

This morning after I had gone for a run I took a moment to watch some news.  Which is something that I just don’t do especially in the morning because most of the time it is about traffic jams, the nights shootings, and the economy.  I have made a choice not to watch the news because I just feel like all I see is the negative war, murder, down stocks, and children disappearing.  With out being P.C. the news just pisses me off.  Well this morning was no different and I just walked away feeling irritated.  So being sore, irritated, and sweaty I sat down for some serious time with God.  I feel that for me one of my year goals is to make my time more dedicated to listening and to praying.  So that is what I started out to do and some where in that moment I saw something that had never jumped out to me before, the following verses:

Habakkuk 3:17-18 (NLT)  Even though the fig trees have no blossoms, and there are no grapes on the vine; even though the olive crop fails, and the fields lie empty and barren; even though the flocks die in the fields, and the cattle barns are empty, [18] yet I will rejoice in the Lord! I will be joyful in the God of my salvation. 

There before me was a moving verbalization of what I was feeling, but I had left off the ending.  Ok, so if I watch the news there are going to be wars, there is going to be stories of murder, stories of men cheating on their wives, that the economy is in the tank, that we are living in a time of global warming, and that the Broncos are not in the playoffs. (Sorry got a little emotional) I still have to constantly remind my self that all doesn’t matter because the God of Habakukk’s time is the same God that I have today.  So just like that prophet of old I to must say, “Yet, I will rejoice in the Lord! I will be joyful in the God of my Salvation”.  I am able to say I have a God that is bigger then anything that this world can through at me and I am excited to see what happens next.  I also know that through  this I also need to make sure that I am telling everyone else that I know that the God of my Salvation, wants them to know Him too and that He wants give them the same joy that  Habakukk wrote about so long ago.

What area of your life can you look at today and say with JOY, “Thank you God for ________________.”

Leave a Reply

