Living the crazy life that God has given me!

Husbands learn to Enjoy!

 

I enjoy the wife of my youth.

I enjoy the wife of my youth.

This week I had a couple come into my office just to say hi.  But while they stood there they looked at some of the photos that I have on the wall of my family.  In the center of the different photos I have a special framed couple of photos of my wife.  In the center of the photos is the following verse:

Proverbs 5:18-19 (Msg) Bless your fresh-flowing fountain! Enjoy the wife you married as a young man! [19] Lovely as an angel, beautiful as a rose— don’t ever quit taking delight in her body. Never take her love for granted!

The reason that I had this verse put with the photos is as a reminder for me to always challenge me to enjoy my wife.  Now there are many ways that you can take ENJOY.  Of course yes that means sexually, if you are a man reading this that is the first thing that you thought of. If you are saying: “No I didn’t “ then you are also lying. There really is so much more.  Enjoy her smile, enjoy her laughter, enjoy her as a friend, enjoy her as a mother, enjoy her as she cries, enjoy her as someone that is needed in your life.  But that means that you need to work at being the man that she needs.  One of the steps that you can do to be that man is never take her for granted.  Take the time to listen to her when she has been home with kids all day and you are the first real conversation she has had that day.  Take the time to let her do something that she wants to do and that is just for her.  Take the time to make sure that you do what makes her feel loved.  That may mean that sex isn’t even in the picture.  But for marriages to be what they need to be men need to not take their wives for granted.  Today men need to step it up.  Men take the time to enjoy. Thank you Michelle for allowing me to be your husband for the last 16 years.

What can you do today to enjoy your wife?

What steps can you take today to prepare to be a husband that enjoys his wife?

One response

  1. Michelle

    No honey, thank you for allowing me to be your wife! It’s been the best 16 years of my life. I am so proud of you and I cherish every day I have with you:) I love you!

    December 26, 2008 at 9:30 PM

Leave a Reply

