Living the crazy life that God has given me!

Happy Thanksgiving!

Today we are going to spend time as a family watching parades, eating food, taking naps, watching football, and being a family. Then they will all sit down around a table and share the things that they are thankful for in their life.  I have to say that is something that we do as a family and I really enjoy listening to the different things that my wife and kids share.  But as we have been going through the Sermon on the Mount as a student ministry and we have been really diving into scripture there are some things that I have been thinking about.  Like shouldn’t everyday be Thanksgiving Day for us?  As I look around my home and I look at the faces of my family I think that everyday that the Lord allows me to live is Thanksgiving Day.  So even though we may have a holiday that is called Thanksgiving I challenge you to make every day Thanksgiving.  I love what this verse says:

Col. 3:15-16 (NLT) And let the peace that comes from Christ rule in your hearts. For as members of one body you are all called to live in peace. And always be thankful. [16] Let the words of Christ, in all their richness, live in your hearts and make you wise. Use his words to teach and counsel each other. Sing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs to God with thankful hearts.

I hope and pray that as we all gather around tables and we pray that we remember that as a person that is following after Christ that everyday is Thanksgiving Day.  

2 responses

  1. novice101

    Happy Thanksgiving to you!

    It is good to have one day in a year designated for the expression of gratefulness. We do not have one here in Malaysia. So wise of Abraham Lincoln!

    The world would be less chaotic, it would be a more peaceful place if each one of us has the awareness in him that there are plenty for which he should be thankful for.

    To remind myself of my good fortune, I have drawn up a list for my daily expression of giving thanks.

    http://novice101.wordpress.com/2008/10/30/now-is-as-good-a-time-as-any-for-thankfulness

    November 27, 2008 at 12:55 AM

  2. Thanks for the comment I checked out your blog and it looked great keep up the work.

    December 10, 2008 at 1:42 AM

Leave a Reply

