Living the crazy life that God has given me!

Coach The Team

I love to read and in one of the books that I am currently reading has come some great statistics about the great Coach Paul “Bear” Bryant.  I have to be honest I got excited about this because I love Bear Bryant.  I remember as a young man and a lover of the sport of football I did a report on Bear Bryant.  I even had a hat that I kept from my Grandpa Jake that looked like a Bear Bryant hat that he used to wear.  I remember watching the man himself pace the sidelines as he coached his team. But take a look at the following information:

“The Bear coached at Alabama for twenty-five years, winning six national titles (1961, 1964,1965,1973,1978,1979) and thirteen Southeastern Conference (SEC) Championships.  In other words on average he won a national championship every four years at Alabama, and he won a SEC title every other year. 

This remarkable coaching career includes another fascinating tidbit.  No football player at Alabama ever has ever won the Heisman Trophy, college football’s equivalent of the most valuable player.  The Bear had a coaching philosophy that focused on the team rather than the individual.  Even though he had the best teams many years while he was the coach at Alabama, he resisted allowing one player to be too important.  That would diminish the power of the team.  That would be detrimental to the team.” Page 171, “The Essential Church”, by Thom S. Rainer and Sam s. Rainer III

As I read through this I was bombarded with some questions.  Would the great Paul “Bear” Bryant be able to coach the same way as he did back then today?  Would the people on his teams respond to the idea of team?  It is hard to think this way with the way players beat their chest today about their play.  Where they do flips into the end zone with the risk of costing their team.  I have to even think would the team that is number one in the nation “The Crimson Tide” be able to win under his leadership today?  All this thinking makes me wonder how would Jesus respond to the church that today.

John 17:22-23 (NLT) “I have given them the glory you gave me, so that they may be one, as we are— [23] I in them and you in me, all being perfected into one. Then the world will know that you sent me and will understand that you love them as much as you love me.

Are we the unified team that He was talking about? Or are we the group of Heisman Trophy winners?  What can we do to be the team that Jesus was talking about?

Leave a Reply

