Living the crazy life that God has given me!

Writing “Life Goals”

So as I shared before the “Bloyer” clan has taken on the task of developing a Life Goals list, not for the family but individually.  So this last Sunday night we went to Starbucks each of us got our favorite drink and we decided to sit together and we began to write life goals.  Now I want you to understand that a week ago we decided to pray about these goals and we would wait to write any of them down.  Certain people in my house that will remain nameless decided to start writing.  But there were a few of us that still needed to process what this meant and what the goals to were look like.  So we all then re-read the information that I got from Mark Batterson after reading “The Wild Goose Chase” and “In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy day!”.  

After we all were on the same page about the goals the pens came out and the writing became fast and furious.  With moments of my wife and kids looking of to some distant place and then back into the “Life Goals” journal that I created for them.  As a husband and a dad I have to say that it was an amazing moment.  I saw passion, creativity, and excitement that was more then just about the coffee and the addiction that we all have to it.  I saw in the faces of my family a glow about what God could really do in them and through them when it came to these goals.  We all continued to write until one of us broke the silence.  I honestly have to say that I think that it was Morgan when she asked how to write “Broadway Musical Performance”.  Right then and there Michelle and Danielle had to find out why this question was being asked.  One of Morgan’s “Life Goals” is to sing and perform in a Broadway musical.  She said I think that is something that I could do to glorify God with my talents.  There was a strong AMEN from Mom and Big sister!  So with that being said here are a few of the things that were written down:

Michelle: Go to Culinary school, Send her parents on an all expense paid vacation.

Danielle: Play volleyball at ASU, Remain pure for her Godly husband (Dad liked that one)

Tyler: Go on a photo safari in Africa with his Dad, Play in the NFL

Morgan: Learn to play the guitar before she is 18, Sing and Perform in a Broadway Musical

I wanted to be able to share this with you because I think that we as parents forget that our children have hopes and aspirations to do things in their life.  That they can see way bigger then we think and that we need to challenge them to go for it.  This week I am preparing a message for our series “Fear: What is Gripping You?”  the topic this week is failure.  I want my kids to learn to fail, I want to them to have to realize that unless they are seeking the kingdom of God and His goals that there will be failure.  The biggest thing is that I don’t want them to remain there.  Here is a quote from Teddy Roosevelt that I think is awesome.

The only man who never makes a mistake is the man who never does anything.

Theodore Roosevelt

May we as God’s people realize that He has not called us to a life of safety. But a life of adventure and that we as parents are not only called to this life, but to model it to our kids.  

What “Life Goals” do you have?  When have you asked your kids what their “Life Goals” are? Maybe it’s time to sit down, pray, and see what adventure that God has placed before you and your kids?

3 responses

  1. Hi Scott,
    I just found your blog through your email that you sent about Sunday’s sermon on fear. Great post!! Although I don’t know your entire family we are just totally blown away by Danielle and love how she lives her life for Jesus. She has babysat for us a few times and we think she’s wonderful. We are thrilled that you guys are at Northgate and we look forward to getting to know you soon.

    October 16, 2008 at 4:53 PM

  2. Kurt

    Scott,
    I finally got your blog into my favorites so now I don’t have to catch up each week on your computer like I have been since you started it a month or so ago. By the way I think you are doing an awesome job with it. Keep up the great work!

    October 16, 2008 at 9:43 PM

  3. Nancy Bloyer

    How coime we got everyone else’s goals and not yours. I think when you are sharing on a blog you should be required to share yours also!! Love, Mon

    October 22, 2008 at 8:43 PM

Leave a Reply

