Living the crazy life that God has given me!

Learning to Play

Over the last couple of weeks one of the things that has really caught my attention is how people really have lost the ability to PLAY! I don’t mean the act of putting on a PLAY or the way we PLAY sports.  But the function of just playing games and having fun! You know PLAY!  When you were younger going across the street to get one of the guys on the street, you didn’t go and ask if you can schedule a time where you can sit down and engage in conversation while enjoying the graphics of the X-Box.  You walked across the street you knocked on the door, rang the doorbell, whatever and you said, “Hey can you guys come out and play?”.  What has happened to “Let’s play”?

All this thought caused me to go back to the book: “The 10 Building Blocks for a Happy Family” by Jim Burns.  One of the building blocks that he talks about is “Play is necessary for a close knit family”.  In fact one of the very first statements that he writes in this chapter is “This may sound like an oversimplification, but the family or marriage that isn’t working is a family or marriage that isn’t playing together.  Playing, using humor, having fun and building life long traditions are essential traits of happy, healthy families.”  

So I want us to really think about a time where we just played?  I want you to know think about the fun that you had, the way that it made you felt when you were done, and what it is doing to you know as you think about it.  My prayer is that you have those memories and that they are memories of not to long ago.  My prayer is that you are having fun in your homes.  That you are having fun with your spouses.  That you are playing!

 I have to say that for me this is a great enjoyment that I have in my own home and my own life.  This last weekend is a great example my high school son and I stayed up late, OK we stayed up until early morning.  We watched movies, we threw the coach pillows at each other, we wrestled (which is getting much harder then it used to be), and then we crashed.  We started laughing so hard at one point in time I thought that he was going to throw up the popcorn that we scarfed down.  Sunday night while we are on the family walk we both shared how much we enjoyed that.  

I have had the privilege of tackling my wife and holding her arms down and tickling her, she has a great laugh.  I chased my oldest daughter around the house while giving her charlie horses, I have a daughter that loves to have her dad play the alligator and grab her off the couch.  I have even taken my kids out of school just so that we could stay home, hang out, and watch movies.  In the Bloyer house we call these things “Planned Spontaneous”, you always don’t have to live life scheduled.  You don’t have to run around with your head cut off either.  Plan some spontaneous fun! 

Husbands plan some fun for your wife. Dads plan some fun for your kids (not things that you want to do) things that they like to do.  Let’s learn to play again and not take life so serious that we miss out, on each other?

So the question for the day is are you having any fun? Once you have answered that then go ask your spouse or kids “Do you want to PLAY?”

P.S. If you don’t believe me about the family having fun, check out my kids video. They lip sing “Mama Mia”.

2 responses

  1. Melissa Morgan

    That was awesome! Thanks for the reminder that we need to be having more fun. I have such a hard time digging deep and finding “fun Melissa” instead of “practical Melissa.”

    October 6, 2008 at 11:55 PM

  2. LOVE IT! Tell Tyler I was totally digging the newsies cap!

    October 7, 2008 at 3:41 AM

Leave a Reply

