Living the crazy life that God has given me!

Parenting Teenagers

There are times in life that you just step back and go, man that was awesome.  In fact anytime that I do that I just think of “Tommy Boy” when the deer takes apart Richard’s car. Well here is one of those moments for me as a parent.  I love going around my house and praying for my wife and kids, in fact before we even moved into the house that we live in now I went and found special verses that I saw in the Bible and I wrote them on each of the doors in the house. I didn’t tell anyone that I had done it and I just wanted to see how God would use the verses in the lives of those that picked the bedrooms.  I took this idea from the following verse: 

Deuteronomy 6: 6-9 (MSG)  “Write these commandments that I’ve given you today on your hearts.  Get them inside of you  and then get them inside of your children.  Talk about them where ever you are, sitting at home or walking in the street; talk about them from the time you get up in the morning to when you fall into bed at night.  TIe them on your hands and foreheads as a reminder; inscribe them on the doorposts of your homes and on your city gates.”

So as I went through the house last week I found the statement in the picture written on the message board that my daughter Danielle has over her desk. If you can’t read the statement it says this; “The difference between you and God is He doesn’t think He’s you.”  Not only was this not an awesome moment for me as a parent but a humbling moment as well.  This is a high school sophomore that has caught the understanding of how huge, great, amazing, incredible God is and that we can never be Him.  That the only way that we can survive this life is to see Him as God.  Hopefully you this week are able to see God in this way.  By the way, the verse that is over the door of Danielle’s room is a verse from Proverbs about “Wisdom”.

What verses have you written on the doors and hearts of your kids?  

Leave a comment and share that with other parents.

Leave a Reply

