Living the crazy life that God has given me!

Walking the pages!

So I have been taking the time to really walk the pages of the bible as I study it.  I have been reading through a book in the Old testament and then one in the New testament and it has really been challenging as well as inspiring.  Right now I am in Hosea (old testament) and Acts (new testament) and they have really required me to take some time to just sit and process.  So after I have prayed, wrote in the journal, read the different chapters I take time to just sit in silence.  It has been an area that I know that I need more and more each day because of all the noise that life can bring.  I also know that I need to because I am so bad at just sitting and remaining silent.  It was an area that was really brought to my attention when I read the book “Celebration of Discipline” by Richard J. Foster.  So today I sat and thought on this line that I read in Hosea:

“Alcohol and prostitution have robbed my people of their brains. They are asking a piece of wood to tell them what to do! They think that a stick can tell them the future! Longing after idols has made them foolish. They have played the prostitute, serving other gods and deserting their God.” Hosea 4: 11-12

The question that I have is what are the idols that we use today? Sure we are a lot smarter because of the technology that we have but are we really that much wiser?  Has the stick been replaced by the stock market? Has the stick been replaced by presidents? Has the stick been replaced with church growth? Toys? 

Tell me what do you see that we have replaced the stick with.

Leave a Reply

